December 2, 2008 – 4:33 am

Click on the panels for a better view or to download artwork.

Fit For A King [no label, 1CD]

Live at the Troubadour, Los Angeles, May 1971. Very good audience.

When Carole King released her Tapestry album in 1971, she was already a known hitmaker, with songs such as Will You Love Me Tomorrow, Some Kind Of Wonderful, The Lo-co Motion, One Fine Day and Up On The Roof (a hit for The Drifters) to her credit.

But her 1970 debut solo album, Writer, which featured Child Of Mine and Up On The Roof, was not a commercial success. It was left to Tapestry to turn Carole King into one of the top singer-songwriters of the day.

Thanks then to Doinker who shared this (cleaned-up) show on the Dime site, which featured a fairly chatty Carole King performing what now looks like some of her best-known songs. As Doinker noted: “Fresh from my turntable to you, this awesome concert features Ms. King at the peak of her performing powers. One of the best sets to ever make it to bootleg vinyl, this Ex- audience is shocking in its quality. My only regret with bringing it to you is that I wish that it were longer. It’s that good.”

Thanks also to therapeut for sharing the artwork.

These tracks are no longer available for sharing.
01. I Feel The Earth Move
02. Whispering Wind
03. Child Of Mine
04. Beautiful
05. It’s Too Late
06. Smackwater Jack
07. Conversation
08. So Far Away
09. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow
10. Some Kind Of Wonderful
11. Up On The Roof
12. You’ve Got A Friend
13. (You Make Me Feel Like a) Natural Woman
Carole King - piano and vocals
Charles Larkey - bass
Danny “Kootch” Kortchmar - guitar

Click here to order the two-CD Tapestry-Legacy Edition.

  1. 12 Responses to “CAROLE KING - LOS ANGELES 1971”

  2. please get rid of the benedict brain icon it’s obnoxious

    By john morrison on Dec 2, 2008

  3. Love old Carole King! Thanks!

    By Society's Pliers on Dec 2, 2008

  4. Thank you for providing this. I really appreciate you’re work here.

    By Timothy on Dec 4, 2008

  5. i’m confused… track 02 is listed as Whispering Wind, and i’m sure that it’s called Song Of Long Ago. hate to be so accurate…
    thanks, anyway. it’s a real find.

    By a. on Dec 5, 2008

  6. Benedict Brain…gotta agree with John Morrison on getting rid of this one and also the Betty(?) one.

    By Roger on Dec 5, 2008

  7. Whispering Wind… Song Of Long Ago. Thanks a, for the feedback.

    By bigozine2 on Dec 7, 2008

  8. Thank you Big O for this Great gig by Carol King a real find for us fans.
    Hey Mr Morrison & Wodger if you both are so easily offended by the content of this FREE site,Don’t go trying to change it to suit your own narrow minded humourless little minds,Just don’t keep putting yourselves through the obnoxious mental torture you must experience by coming here! Take a HINT………Ta Ra…..

    By Gnome Chompsky on Dec 7, 2008

  9. Yeah, the Benedict Brain and Betty icons don’t bother me, but when I’m trying to surreptitiously check out Big O on the computers at work it looks bad for someone to come up behind me with boobs-a-bouncin’ and willies-a-waggin’:D

    By Society's Pliers on Dec 8, 2008

  10. wow… so glad i found this record… carole, i love you, you’re still the greatest for me… thanks for all the wonderful moments you gave and still give to me…

    By robin stone on Mar 13, 2009

  11. Hi BigO Just a head’s up…track 4 (”Beautiful”) seems not to want to download. Could you review and reconfigure as needed? Thank you!!

    By je n'regret rien on Mar 2, 2016

  12. Umm, one more thing. Same problem with the Neil Young show. Tracks 111 (”Love Is A Rose”) and 205 will not download. When I right-click on track number, nothing happens.

    By je n'regret rien on Mar 2, 2016

  13. Thank you, BigO! Tracks worked fine today. And thanks for the Queen too. Am so very grateful for your dedication to sharing/keeping the music alive! Best wishes.

    By je n'regret rien on Mar 3, 2016

Post a Comment