September 2, 2012 – 4:30 am

Jazz rock as envisioned by Chicago, Blood Sweat & Tears, Chase and others.

Click on the panels for a better view or to download artwork.

Wien 1975 [no label, 1CD]

Live in Austria, August 29, 1975. Very good soundboard stereo. This came to us a long time ago and our notes list this as a soundboard recording. Could be FM sourced.

Jean-Luc Ponty was gone. His squealing violin substituted by newcomer Stu Goldberg’s equally electrifying synthesizer. The entire horn and string section was also axed. The third lineup of the Mahavishnu Orchestra was now a quartet. But as a review in AllMusic.com noted of the album they recorded, this was “power-packed music”.

They open with A Love Supreme, with McLaughlin alive and playing like a dervish. The chant of “a love supreme” gets buried in this version. The tempo only comes to a crawl by the third tune, Sanctuary, another one that lets McLaughlin’s guitar shine. There are ample examples of Stu Goldberg’s keyboard skills on the next two lengthy instrumentals. Together with drummer Narada, both players keep the band sounding funky.

This show has McLaughlin run the band through its paces with much of the material from what’s regarded as their best album, Birds Of Fire. The Birds album was one of the more successful meldings of jazz and rock with much prominence given to the guitar as both a jazz and rock instrument. While Chicago and BS&T offered jazz-rock with more than a touch of pop, it was left to Miles Davis and McLaughlin to push the boundaries further into jazz territory.

Yet despite so much instrumental skill on display, punks were already lying in wait for the ambush to return the music to its three-minute single status. Jazz rock never recovered.
- Professor Red

Picture by Warren Sanders, posted at warrensenders.com - Thanks!

Click on the highlighted tracks to download the MP3s (224 kbps). As far as we can ascertain, these tracks have never been officially released on CD.

Please Do Not Hammer The Links. Due to the size of some of the files, please be very patient when downloading the tracks. It could be that the server was very busy. The tracks should still be around. Please try again later. Kindly email us at [email protected] if you encounter persistent problems downloading the files.

Track 01. A Love Supreme (cuts in) 11:57 (19.1MB)
Track 02. Faith/Open Country Joy 18:18 (29.3MB)
Track 03. Sanctuary 4:10 (6.7MB)
Track 04. One Word/All In The Family* 19:40 (31.5MB)
Track 05. Hope/Be Happy** 10:26 (16.7MB)
TT: 64:33

* studio version found on Inner Worlds
** studio version found on Visions Of The Emerald Beyond
Open Country Joy, Sanctuary, One Word and Hope studio versions found on Birds Of Fire

Mahavishnu Orchestra (version III)
John McLaughlin - guitar, vocals
Narada Michael Walden - drums
Ralphe Armstrong - bass, vocals
Stu Goldberg - keyboards, synthesizer

Inner Worlds was released by the third lineup of the Mahavishnu Orchestra in 1976, after a two-month European jaunt. If you enjoyed their playing at this concert, consider buying their only recorded album here.

+ + + + +
+ + + + +

Click here for more shows that are still open for sharing.

Click here for closed shows.
(Readers can email us a request to reopen closed shows.)

  1. 24 Responses to “LET THE MUSIC RUN ITS COURSE”

  2. Thanks for this BigO. Just one small ‘correction’: A Love Supreme doesn’t “cut in” - that’s simply how the great band start the piece (just like the MO mkl used to do - with a bang, not a whimper!)

    By John on Sep 2, 2012

  3. John’s got it right. In an interview years McLaughlin said (more or less) their goal playing live was to make the loudest music/sound you ever heard in your life, and it started from the beginning of the show. They wanted the music to be a physical experience as well as an auditory one.

    Saw NMW playing drums with Jeff Beck a few months got, hes still got it! As doe JB.

    By raoul duke on Sep 3, 2012

  4. “Jazz rock as envisioned by Chicago, Blood Sweat & Tears, Chase and others.”

    This statement makes no sense, when discussing Mahavishnu Orchestra.

    By Shaun on Sep 3, 2012

  5. nice call raoul duke. totally agree.

    By Billy Jack on Sep 4, 2012

  6. I agree Shaun, especially considering this is AFTER he axed the horn section! Great stuff though, thanks Big-O!

    By elvislives on Sep 4, 2012

  7. Thanks so much to Professor Red for this post and to John and Raoul for the comments on the opening. This was an awe-inspiring live band which I got to see on 2 different nights. Quite different from the band that toured with Jeff Beck. Great show!

    By Johnny Kinkdom on Sep 4, 2012

  8. Love Mahavishnu Orch!! Thanks for sharing!!

    By DanC on Sep 4, 2012

  9. Thanks, Professor Red and Big O!

    By ocripes on Sep 5, 2012

  10. Squealing violin? Where did you get that as a description of JLP’s violin playing?

    By ultomatt on Sep 8, 2012

  11. I believe it was Jerry Goodman playing violin on BOF. Had the pleasure of meeting him about 10 years ago. I don’t recall JLP with MO… what album(s)?

    By Pete on Sep 27, 2012

  12. JLP plays on Apocalypse!

    By Evil dr.Louie on Nov 1, 2012

  13. for fans of mahavishnu this should be good news -


    By darth on Sep 16, 2014

  14. good news darth would be us finding out you didn`t pay your internet bill

    By crusty on Sep 16, 2014

  15. He probably doesn’t pay his internet bill - just taps into his neighbor’s wireless network for free.

    By The Mother Ship on Sep 16, 2014

  16. none of my neighbors have internet. only 1 or 2 have cable tv. im not going anywhere.

    By darth on Sep 17, 2014

  17. :-)

    By The Mother Ship on Sep 17, 2014

  18. feel sorry for your neighbors darth,it must be hard to find a double wide that doesn`t leak and has cable .

    By ELP on Sep 17, 2014

  19. i dont live in a trailer. i have a one br apt in the capital city of ohio just north of downtown near the osu college campus. i dont need u to feel sorry for my neighbors u dumbass. i pay for my cable. i get about 1200 channels give or take. altho i only watch a couple of 100 of em. i have reasonably decent speed internet at about 15mbps altho its sometimes higher. its time warner. no one else in my building has a computer.
    i pay under $100 but i get much more than i should for what i pay. my phone is separate thru at&t.

    try to put more energy into appreciating that i brought to your attention the new mahavishnu album and tour. u fucking idiots.

    By darth on Sep 17, 2014

  20. “try to put more energy into appreciating that i brought to your attention the new mahavishnu album and tour. u fucking idiots.”

    But the link you posted has nothing to do with the Mahavishnu Orchestra.

    Manchester….Mahavishnu….spot the difference, YOU fuckin’ idiot.

    Even you can’t bullshit your way out of that one, you got it completely wrong. Spectacular fuck-up, even by your standards.

    By The Mother Ship on Sep 17, 2014

  21. darth, even the link you posted above contains the name manchester…….didn’t you read it?

    Didn’t you read the page it links to, where it says Manchester Orchestra in large bold letters?

    By Spell Checker on Sep 17, 2014

  22. manchester orchestra featuring mahavishnu darth HA who`s the idiot!!!

    By ELP on Sep 17, 2014

  23. Even you can’t bullshit your way out of that one, you got it completely wrong. Spectacular fuck-up, even by your standards.
    he won`t respond .he never does when he`s wrong which is usually twice a week.

    By little pancake on Sep 17, 2014

  24. might as well add my $0.02- hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!

    By barth on Sep 17, 2014

  25. well i do admit my mistakes. my eyes are going. i am sorry.

    By darth on Sep 17, 2014

Post a Comment