March 4, 2009 – 4:20 am

Just added: Click on the panels for full-size art, with thanks to pauloseltaeb.





At Home [His Master’s Choice HMC-008, 2CD]

At first glance this new collection of piano and guitar demos read like the same old songs that have been around the collector’s circuit. But here they are in dramatically better sonic quality. The guitar plucks are crystal clear. Lennon’s voice has living room presence. If you take heed of the label’s name, maybe these really are from Lennon’s original master cassettes. Some fans think these were the tapes stolen by one-time employee Fred Seaman. Who really knows.

All the songs were demos Lennon was preparing for his comeback album, Double Fantasy. In Yoko Ono’s authorised The John Lennon Anthology, are the rest of the demos on disc 4, labelled “Dakota” after the brownstone the Lennon’s stayed in New York City.

Divided onto two discs, one of guitar demos, the other of piano demos, Lennon plays by himself. The performances are achingly intimate and sometimes tragically so. Grow Old With Me comes to mind. They come across as a private session that the listener is secretly invited to listen to. It’s also clear Lennon didn’t intend any of these to be heard and that includes the tracks Yoko released on the Anthology. Take a listen to Solitude the final track on this collection. The starkness reminds you of Mother’s anguish.

What you’ll hear is Lennon, mostly all grown up except when he’s sniping at Dylan [Knocking On Dylan’s Door, Serve Yourself]. Dylan’s Christian songs was too self-righteous for Lennon to swallow and it must have irked him enough to show his sarcastic side again. Otherwise, the songs are all introspective, about his new family life. Watching The Wheels becomes the strongest song from these sessions as Lennon charts his newfound contentment and turns away from the pop circus. There’s also a great clean version of Real Love, the track the Threetles recorded as post-Lennon Beatles. It’s good to know Lennon was thinking about love in his final years.

We should be grateful Lennon and Yoko managed to complete Double Fantasy.

Thanks to semato1 for sharing this set on the net; and to Slvrhmrm who fixed Now And Then, Why Must We Be Alone and Solitude.

- The Little Chicken

These tracks are no longer available for sharing.Disc 1
Guitar demos
1 Watching The Wheels *
2 Knocking On Dylan’s Door *
3 It Sounds Like a Ballad To Me *
4 More Satire *
5 Lebenstraum
6 French Song
7 Serve Yourself *
8 She’ll Be Comin’ Round The Mountain
9 Dear Yoko
10 I’m Stepping Out
11 I Don’t Wanna Face It
12 Borrowed Time *
13 Beautiful Boy
14 Grow Old With Me
15 Starting Over
16 Woman
17 Say It Again
18 Nobody Told Me
19 Nobody Told Me
20 Nobody Told Me
21 I’m Losing You
22 I Ain’t Got Time

Disc 2
Piano demos
1 Grow Old With Me
2 Help Me To Help Myself
3 I Don’t Wanna Sleep Alone
4 Now And Then
5 Cleanup Time
6 Watching The Wheels [This track has diginoise starting around 5:50m and intermittently throughout the song]
7 Serve Yourself
8 Memories / Cathy’s Clown
9 Real Love
10 She’s a Friend of Dorothy
11 Starting Over
12 I’m Losing You
13 I’m Stepping Out
14 Don’t Be Afraid *
15 Why Must We Be Alone
16 Solitude* these tracks removed. They can be found on the John Lennon Anthology.

John Lennon - piano, guitar.

John Lennon Anthology [4CD] is the best of John Lennon’s music in a box so far. Buy it here.

  1. 20 Responses to “JOHN LENNON - AT HOME”

  2. Looking forward to listening to these after I download them. I have something called “Home Sessions Unreleased” curious if these are the same recordings or as you state much better quality.

    By Tom on Mar 4, 2009

  3. you state at the end that the tracks that are not available are on the lennon anthology, yet why can i only find 4 out of the 7?

    By mike on Mar 4, 2009

  4. Well…since it’s all free…what’d you expect for free?…even if we miss a few tracks, it’s still a great cd…I can’t forget all the money I spent for the Lost Lennon Tapes on Vinyl, my god!
    I myself found the Lennon box disappointing, did you?

    By Alex Corvini on Mar 5, 2009

  5. i have the lennon box set and the tracks knockin on dylans door and sounds like a ballad to me are nowhere to be found, however it still is a great cd. kudos also for the great clapton & clapton and beck shows. tremendous!

    By DONALD SHERLOCK on Mar 5, 2009

  6. To Mike: That’s because the same tracks on the Lennon 4CD Anthology have different titles.

    Disc 1, tracks 2 to 4 are officially available on John Lennon 4CD anthology box as Satire 1, 2 and 3.

    By bigozine2 on Mar 5, 2009

  7. Thanks For this- the tracks while familiar, sound clean and fresh!

    By Bruce on Mar 5, 2009

  8. Fcuk you mark chapman!!!

    By nijle on Mar 5, 2009

  9. fuck you mark chapman!!!

    By nijle on Mar 5, 2009

  10. BTW - Track202 Is released on the ‘Double Fantasy’ CD Reissue as a bonus track

    By stevestills on Mar 5, 2009

  11. Thanks stevestills for the feedback.

    By bigozine2 on Mar 6, 2009

  12. Many THANKS BigO!!!! You are indeed doing Beatles & Lennon fans a great service providing these rare tracks!!! Keep up the GREAT work!

    By Jeff on Mar 7, 2009

  13. hermoso, gracias john por tanto

    By anto on Mar 14, 2009

  14. is now and then buzz free and better sound. An amazing cd. grow old with me a miracle!

    By Jason Lee on Mar 20, 2009

  15. What a mind-blowing collection of new demos - much appreciated!

    By Patrick on Jun 17, 2009

  16. greetings from malaysia.

    great site! lots of treasures here…

    i’m a first-time visitor. thanks again.

    By daniel malaysia on Jul 3, 2009

  17. Just added full-size art.

    By bigozine2 on Jul 23, 2009

  18. Just added the rest of the art work (full size).

    By bigozine2 on Jul 27, 2009

  19. i can not thank you enough for these, really great quality and free cheers.

    By nestlenathan on Nov 3, 2009

  20. julian lennon’s mom died today age 75.

    By darth on Apr 2, 2015

  21. well ok u people prob would wanna read about it -

    By darth on Apr 2, 2015

Post a Comment