April 1, 2009 – 4:18 am

No one but Elvis can claim they started rock ‘n’ roll. Forty years ago, he made his mark in the desert of Las Vegas.

Click on the panels for a better view or to download artwork.

August 13, 1970,The Dinner Show [International Records 1CD; released March 2009]

Live at the International Hotel, Las Vegas, August 13, 1970. A mono soundboard recording.

Michael Jackson will be performing 50 shows at London’s 02 Arena. Almost 40 years ago, Elvis’ manager The Colonel decided to move his “boy” to Las Vegas and stick him in the desert oasis to perform night after night for a sit-down dining audience. The bold move made Elvis and The Colonel rich. It also made Elvis dependent on The Colonel. No one else in Elvis’ entourage had the Colonel’s enterprise.

To top that bold move, The Colonel decided to film all the shows from August 10 to August 13, a total of six shows [the final midnight show on August 13 was never recorded or filmed]. The purpose was to show Elvis claiming back the crown as King of Rock ‘n’ Roll. And, of course, to make even more money from the film and soundtrack.

Each show starts with a quick run of catalog hits - Elvis hollers the intro to Hound Dog like he was saying “I still am the one”. Just as quickly, he displays his continuing ability to sing hits when he performs a slew of current singles like In The Ghetto, I Can’t Stop Loving You, I’ve Lost You and You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’. Not a filler in sight.

For this August 13 dinner show, Elvis offers even more. This is among the longer shows in the boxset and includes The Wonder Of You and then another section of his early hits Blue Suede Shoes, One Night and All Shook Up and finally cruises to the climax with Bridge Over Troubled Waters, the country pop Suspicious Minds and his signature tune to close the show, Can’t Help Falling In Love. It would also be the format for all his shows to come.

This show together with another five have recently been released as a 6CD-3DVD set by International Records. Three of the shows have been shared on the net by RamesesII who said:

“These are the three missing soundboards from the new That’s The Way It Is Complete Works box set. They have never been released by BMG. Why is a mystery, as they are wonderful recordings. They were very kindly copied from the original CDs by Aussiemick a very generous Elvis fan who spent a lot of money to buy this set. A huge thank you to him and also for his permission to torrent these recordings.”

Thanks to RamesesII and Aussiemick for making this happen.

Three of the shows Aug 10, Aug 11 [midnight show] and Aug 12 [midnight show] have all been officially released in stereo. Hopefully some day, Elvis’ record label will decide to release stereo versions of these lost soundboard recordings. Altogether, Elvis was in Las Vegas from August 10 to Sept 7 taking a one week break at the end of August.

Generally, the 1970 run of shows in Las Vegas are regarded by fans as his best - a talented man at his prime. Elvis didn’t need to ride an elephant on stage either.
- Professor Red

These tracks are no longer available for download as they have been officially released.

1 Opening Theme
2 That’s Alright Mama
3 I Got A Woman
4 Hound Dog
5 Monologue
6 Love Me Tender
7 Don’t Cry Daddy
8 In The Ghetto
9 I Can’t Stop Loving You
10 Stranger In The Crowd
11 Make The World Go Away
12 Sweet Caroline
13 You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling
14 Polk Salad Annie
15 Instrumental Break
16 Introductions
17 The Wonder Of You
18 Heartbreak Hotel
19 Blue Suede Shoes
20 One Night
21 All Shook Up
22 Bridge Over Troubled Water
23 Suspicious Minds
24 Can’t Help Falling In Love

The Elvis comeback movie That’s The Way It Is made it to DVD in a nice widescreen presentation. But as fans have mentioned, this new DVD version has removed footage from the original film version and added other bits. The removed footage includes a performance of I Just Can’t Help Believing, fan comments and the pre-movie promo blitz. But the sound and picture on the DVD special edition is superior to the old VHS tape. It’s best to get the 2-DVD Special Edition which includes both the new edition and the older original film version. Buy it here.

  1. 3 Responses to “FORTY DAYS & FORTY NIGHTS”

  2. long live the king

    By mkane on Apr 2, 2009

  3. Being a long time fan of Elvis I reckon this performance is quite poor in sound, it completely lacks dynamic,and it’s not a matter of mono.Surely the set list is very attractive , but if you have to post “one” concert of Elvis, this is for sure not a memorable one.
    How about the concert held at the Boston Garden on the 10Th of November 1971?
    It gives much more the idea and the excitement of an Elvis concert.
    Another alternative could be Richmond, March 18, 1974 or Las Vegas March 22, 1975 or Memphis, July 5, 1976.
    None of these above mentioned concerts are released officialy and they worth to listen to even by a non-Elvis fan.
    Take Care!

    By Alex Corvini on Apr 3, 2009

  4. Hi,
    I Would Like to get Down this Album of Elvis FORTY DAYS & FORTY NIGHTS if it’s possible to reopen the files thank you very much

    elvisly yours

    By Samuel on Sep 29, 2016

Post a Comment