December 25, 2014 – 7:11 pm

Click on the panels for a better view or to download artwork.

with the Tanglewood Festival Chorus
Holiday Pops 2009 [A Zootype Project, 2CD]

Live at the Symphony Hall, Boston, MA; December 19, 2009. Very good FM broadcast (mono).

‘Twas the night before Christmas and all thru the house not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.”
This year’s Holiday Pops Concerts feature “‘Twas the Night Before Christmas” written by Clement C Moore with projected illustrations by Jan Brett, narrated by special guests.

Thanks to zootype for sharing the show at Dime.

zootype noted:

This was recorded from an analog FM broadcast. There may be audible FM hiss and other flaws. I picked up a little interference and crackle during the encores.

They weren’t intended to be mono if they are - WCRB-FM is such a weak and noisy station that tuning it to a quiet spot probably actually tuned it to the mono signal [before 2011, I was using an ’80s-era tuner with a big analog tuning knob and I adjusted it until the loud hiss went away - that sometimes turned out to be the strong quiet mono signal].

WCRB-FM/National Public Radio (FM stereo radio) > PC > Soundforge > WAV > tracked, edited and EQ’d in Soundforge > WAVs > SBEs repaired, checksum and FLAC-8 files created in Trader’s Little Helper

Click on the highlighted tracks to download the MP3s (224 kbps). As far as we can ascertain, these tracks have never been officially released on CD.

Please Do Not Hammer The Links. Due to the size of some of the files, please be very patient when downloading the tracks. It could be that the server was very busy. The tracks should still be around. Please try again later. Kindly email us at [email protected] if you encounter persistent problems downloading the files.

Disc 1
Track 101. radio intro A 1:12 (2.0MB)
Track 102. radio intro B 0:23 (652k)
Track 103. Christmas Canticles [Sean O’Laughlin arrangement] 6:23 (10.7MB)
- O Christmas Tree [traditional]
- Hark The Herald Angels Sing [Charles Wesley 1739]
- Adeste Fideles/O Come All Ye Faithful [John Francis Wade c.1700s]
- Silent Night [Franz Xaver Gruber c.1818, English lyrics John Freeman Young 1859]
- Joy To the World [Isaac Watts 1719]
Track 104. radio intro 0:19 (521k)
Track 105. Hallelujah Chorus from “Messiah” [G. F. Handel 1741] 3:19 (5.6MB)
Track 106. Keith Lockhart’s intro 2:22 (4.0MB)
Track 107. The Gifts of Great Meadows [’Coventry Carol’ and ‘Silent Night’, Richard Sebring arrangement, 2009] 3:21 (5.6MB)
Track 108. Keith Lockhart’s intro 1:10 (2.0MB)
Track 109. A Story of Hanukkha [Rabbi Hugo Gryn (1930–1996)] 4:21 (7.3MB)
Track 110. Keith Lockhart’s intro 0:53 (1.5MB)
Track 111. “The Christmas Story” [Philip Lane; narrated and sung by James Demler] 19:29 (32.7MB)
Text based on The Bible, New Testament, Luke: 2
Christmas Hymns:
- Oh Little Town of Bethlehem [Phillips Brooks 1865]
- What Child is This [William Chatterton Dix 1865]
- We Three Kings [John Henry Hopkins, Jr., pub.1863]
- The First Noel [traditional]
- Go Tell It On the Mountain [John W. Work; 1865]
- Angels We Have Heard On High [traditional]
Track 112. radio outro 0:20 (573k)
44 mins

Disc 2
Track 201. radio intro 0:43 (1.2MB)
Track 202. Sleigh Ride [Leroy Anderson; 1948]/radio intro 2:56 (4.9MB)
Track 203. Christmas Waltzes [arranged by Angela Morley] 4:18 (7.2MB)
- Christmas Waltz
- Silver Bells [Jay Livingston and Ray Evans 1953]
- My Favorite Things [Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II]
- It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year [Eddie Pola and George Wyle 1963]
Track 204. Keith Lockhart’s intro 1:12 (2.0MB)
Track 205. Winter Weather Medley [arranged by David Chase] 3:50 (6.5MB)
Track 206. radio intro 0:25 (706k)
Track 207. Twelve Days of Christmas [traditional; arranged by David Chase] 9:07 (15.3MB)
Track 208. Keith Lockhart’s intro 1:44 (2.9MB)
Track 209. ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas [by Clement C Moore; music by Joe Reisman, read by Laura Carlo] 4:11 (7.0MB)
Track 210. radio intro 0:25 (709k)
Track 211. Santa Claus Medley, arranged by Darmon Meader 5:03 (8.5MB)
- The Man with the Bag [Dudley Brooks, Hal Stanley & Irv Taylor, 1950]
- Santa Baby [Joan Javits, Philip Springer and Tony Springer; 1953]
- Santa Claus is Coming to Town [J Fred Coots and Haven Gillespie; 1934]
Track 212. Santa Claus appears on the stage and reads “letters from kids”. 2:59 (5.0MB)
Track 213. Keith Lockhart’s intro 0:45 (1.3MB)
Track 214. Audience Singalong Medley: 7:07 (12.0MB)
- Rudolf the Red-Nosed Reindeer [Robert May and Johnny Marks; 1949(?)]
- Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas [Hugh Martin; 1944(?)]
- Let It Snow [Jule Styne and Sammy Cahn; 1944]
- The Christmas Song [Mel Torme and Bob Wells; 1944]
- Winter Wonderland [Felix Bernard and Richard B. Smith; 1934]
- Jingle Bells [James Lord Pierpont; 1857]
Track 215. encore break 1:02 (1.7MB)
Track 216. White Christmas [Irving Berlin, 1940(?); arranged by Alexander Courage] [brief radio crackle] 3:41 (6.2MB)
Track 217. encore break 0:21 (581k)
Track 218. Frosty All the Way [Walter “Jack” Rollins and Steve Nelson, 1950; James Lord Pierpont, 1857; arranged by Don Sebesky] 2:50 (4.8MB)
Track 219. radio outro 1:23 (2.3MB)
54 mins

Keith Lockhart, conductor
James Demler, baritone and narrator
Laura Carlo, narrator

Click here to order A Boston Pops Christmas - Live from Symphony Hall.

+ + + + +
+ + + + +

Click here for more shows that are still open for sharing.

Click here for closed shows.
(Readers can email us a request to reopen closed shows.)

Post a Comment