April 27, 2010 – 1:25 pm

Click on the panels for a better view or to download artwork.

Nuggets Of Rain [no label, 1CD]

Outtakes. Recorded at 2900 Secret Sound Studios, New York City, New York, October 1975.

Towards the end of 2009, a new Bob Dylan bootleg, Bob Dylan New York Sessions 1974-1975, surfaced which contained the following:

September 16 1974
1 - Idiot Wind - take 6, overdubbed on Oct 8 Test Pressing
2 - Lily, Rosemary & The Jack Of Hearts- Take 1 Test Pressing, September 17 1974
3 - You’re A Big Girl Now - Take 2 Upgrade to Biograph Version, September 19 1974
4 - If You See Her Say Hello - Take 1 Test Pressing
5 - Tangled Up In Blue - Take 2 or 3 Test Pressing, Studio E Columbia Studios N.Y.C. 14 July 1975
6 - Rita Mae - Studio E Columbia Studios N.Y.C. 20 July 1975
7 - Hurricane, Secret Sound Studios N.Y.C. Oct 75
8 - Bob Dylan / Bette Midler Buckets Of Rain sessions (Uncirculated tape) 27 Mins
9 - Buckets Of Rain (Finished Version ) released in 1976 on Songs For The New Depression

One of the highlights is the newly-found tape of Dylan’s sessions with Bette Midler in October, 1975 which produced her cover of Buckets Of Rain. The bootlegger says: “It opens with some upgrades of the original Blood On The Tracks sessions from September 1974, and progresses chronologically through some early Desire sessions, winding up to the main event: almost half an hour of never-heard October 1975 session outtakes of the recording of Bette Midler’s cover of Buckets Of Rain with Dylan, which would show up on her Songs For The New Depression album the following January.”

While we do not have the complete bootleg, thanks to dag2006 who shared the Bette Midler sessions on the net, readers can now have that fly-on-the-wall experience of being in the studio with Dylan and Midler. noted: “At one point Midler says, ’I can’t sing I Ain’t No Monkey, but Dylan gets her to do it. At one point in the session they get into a great version of I Don’t Believe You lead by [Moogy] Klingman on the piano. Some may question the value, but tapes like this, which reveal Dylan and his creative process, are extremely rare and valuable. This also give insight into him working with an up and coming star Bette Midler.”

These tracks are no longer available for download.

+ + + + +

Update: June 25, 2012

DMCA Request : Please cease Infringing Activity / remove Infringed
Title(s) from Infringing File Location(s) ASAP : thank you.

Deborah Sykes
for and on behalf of
2 Queen Caroline Street
London W6 9DX
United Kingdom

The track, Buckets Of Rain, was released on Bette Midler: Songs for the New Depression. Click on the link to order the album.

  1. 11 Responses to “BOB DYLAN AND BETTE MIDLER - NEW YORK 1975”

  2. Pretty cool. I loved Bette in the play “Rochelle, Rochelle”.

    By Timmy on Apr 27, 2010

  3. Great stuff! Now how about allowing access to the Hollow Horn - Mixin’ Up The Medicine basement tapes upgrade. Thanks Big O

    By RKL on Apr 27, 2010

  4. Nice “fly on the wall” stuff. Must we BEG for Bob Dylan New York Sessions 1974-1975 to be posted???????

    By John on Apr 27, 2010

  5. I’m with John on this one….

    By rick on Apr 27, 2010

  6. had to chuckle seeing “Moogy Klingman`s ” name here..only other time I have ever run across it is on the Music From Free Creek lp..
    well..utopia too but that`s it ..

    By sluggo on Apr 28, 2010

  7. To John and Rick

    A test pressing of Blood On The Tracks was made and, as indicated by this note posted by OctopusRider on the net, most of the tracks on it have been officially released:

    Tangled Up In Blue (similar to Bootleg Series vol 2 but different take -slightly different lyrics)
    Simple Twist Of Fate (officially released on BOTT)
    You’re A Big Girl Now  (officially released on Biograph disc 2)
    Idiot Wind (similar to Bootleg Series vol 2 but different take - softer with subtle organ)
    You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome (officially released on BOTT)  
    Meet Me In The Morning (officially released on BOTT)
    Lily Rosemary And The Jack Of Hearts (different take - no band, just acoustics and harmonica)
    If You See Her, Say Hello (similar to Bootleg Series vol 3 but different take - softer and shorter without the harmonica solo before the last verse)
    Shelter From The Storm (officially released on BOTT)
    Buckets Of Rain (officially released on BOTT)

    The above quote is from my original post from July 2007. Though most of these takes have been officially released, they are different mixes. The unreleased takes are Tangled Up In Blue, Idiot Wind, Lily Rosemary And The Jack Of Hearts and If You See Her, Say Hello.

    By bigozine2 on Apr 28, 2010

  8. give us more of this excellent

    By james breslin on Apr 29, 2010

  9. Thanks for more great Bob. I wouldn’t mind hearing the Mixin Up The Medicine title either

    By Matt on May 4, 2010

  10. Songs for the New Depression is my favorite Midler album, and Blood on the Tracks and Desire are among my fave Dylans. Great to get to hear these tracks!

    By Johnny Bacardi on Jun 11, 2010

  11. Another mind blowing session recording! Thank you very much.

    By Improper Bostonian on Jan 17, 2012

  1. 1 Trackback(s)

  2. Apr 30, 2010: Bob Dylan & Bette Midler "Buckets Of Rain" Recording Sessions – New York 1975

Post a Comment